Awards & Recognition

Ten Mile Slide Stabilization Project Wins Infrastructure Achievement Award from Transportation Association of Canada

The Ten Mile Slide Slope Stabilization Project, for which Flatiron was the general construction contractor, wins the 2022 Transportation Association of Canada (TAC) Technical Achievement Awards in the category of Infrastructure Achievement.

Owned by British Columbia Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure, the Ten Mile Slide Slope Stabilization Project involved many “firsts” for the Ministry.

Ten Mile Slide is a 300-metre long, continuously moving landslide along Highway 99 within the Xaxli’p First Nation near Lillooet. The accelerating movement of this geotechnical anomaly, and unsuccessful previous efforts to stabilize it, led to the search for an effective solution.

Starting in 2017, Flatiron began to implement the geotechnically complex design to effectively stabilize the landslide. During the process, 148 concrete and composite piles were installed below the highway to support the road and prevent further movement, and 276 soil anchors were placed above the highway. The road was then reconstructed into two lanes to allow for safe and efficient travel.

The highway opened to two-way traffic in September 2021 after four year’s work. The project has significantly improved the long-term safety and reliability for people traveling Highway 99, which is vital to the local and regional community and economy.

About the award

Each year, Transportation Association of Canada (TAC) recognizes exceptional contributions made by member organizations through its Technical Achievement Awards, which highlight innovations, best practices and lessons learned in the execution of real-life projects. This year, there were a total of 45 applicants with 21 finalists in 8 categories.

Read more about the award:

Previous Article
Flatiron First Construction Contractor to be Part of Airport Emergency Drill
Next Article
Flatiron’s I-710 Pavement Rehabilitation and Bridge Widening Project Wins Contractors Excellence Award from Construction Management Association of America